Skip to content

Classrooms Replace Desk Chairs With Yoga Balls. Makes Me Want to Nap at My Desk.

February 20, 2013

Teachers ditch student desk chairs for yoga balls

AJC — “I have more attentive children,” Giuliano said. “I’m able to get a lot done with them because they’re sitting on yoga balls.” The giant rubber spheres, also called stability balls, come in different sizes, colors and degrees of firmness. By making the sitter work to stay balanced, the balls force muscle engagement and increased blood flow, leading to more alertness. The exercise gear is part a larger effort to modernize schools based on research linking physical activity with better learning, said John Kilbourne, a professor of movement science at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Mich. Traditional classroom setups are being challenged as teachers nationwide experiment with yoga balls, footrests and standing desks, which give children outlets to fidget without disrupting class. “It’s the future of education,” Kilbourne said.

Little bit torn on this one.

On the one hand this would have been my worst nightmare in school. I don’t care if you stuck me on a yoga ball or balanced me over a shark tank; I was going to fall asleep in class. You can only listen to passages from Beowulf for about 0.5 seconds before you go completely comatose. That basically means nasty drool covered yoga balls and nodding off and ending up on the gross carpet that’s half fiber and half gum.

On the other hand, kids are fat fat fatties nowadays and a little core strength never hurt anyone. Plus, you know the second that teacher leaves the classroom everybody just starts wrecking each other with bouncy balls. Playing sumo wrestling, dodgeball, and just kicking them as hard as they can hoping it crushes somebody in the face.

Luckily I sit in a comfy chair with a nice obscured view from my boss, so I say yoga ball it up grade schoolers! Partially because fat kids disgust me, but also because I can’t wait for the videos of kids getting destroyed by these things.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

